MAKING A COMMITMENT

hilton-hotel

Yesterday was a long day. My mom and I attended Dr. Fuhrman’s Health Excursion in here in Chicago at the Rosemont/ O’Hare Hilton Hotel. Dr. Fuhrman for those of you who don’t know is a board-certified family physician, NY Times best-selling author and nutritional researcher who specializes in preventing and reversing disease through nutritional and natural methods. You may have seen him on Dr. OZ show or the documentary “Sick, Fat, and Nearly Dead.”

joel fuhrman with fruit

He spoke on the importance of good nutrition when it comes to preventing or even curing ourselves of diseases. Dr. Fuhrman believes that we all should become “Nutritarians”, a term that he has coined to describe people who have adopted a micronutrient-rich diet. I want to make up my own word but it’s kind of like trying to make “fetch” happen #meangirls.

My Dad had introduced Dr. Fuhrman’s method of eating to me last year and I have even consulted with Dr. Jay Benson, a colleague of Dr. F’s. My intention was to get off prednisone and lose a bit of weight in the process. Dr. Benson created a meal plan for me to follow and provided me with a list of supplement to take. Don’t get me wrong I want to get well and cure myself of lupus. But this ish is hard. I have no problem removing meat from my diet, even eggs and dairy are easy to avoid. Where I fail with my diet is avoiding glutens, sugars, oils and processed foods. For a while I assumed that because it the package said vegan and it was in a Whole Foods or Trader Joes, it had to be healthy. Lol. But this is definitely not the case.

 make the commitment tomatoes and peas

I found Dr. F’s lectures not only inspiring but motivating. I wanted to go home and give it another try. I have promised myself this year I would work on me. One of my new year’s goals/intentions is to get healthy. This includes getting off all of my medications and work towards becoming lupus-free. By following Dr. Fuhrman’s Nutritarian lifestyle I believe this goal is possible.

Leave a Reply

