TASTY TUESDAY: “Fully Raw Burrito”

Last week while I was supposed to be working on a big project that I had been put in charge of I found myself totally distracted by vegan and raw recipes on my pinterest page. I was on a 7 day juice cleanse and I could not help but think about all the foods that I wanted to eat once the cleanse was over. So while trying not to drool on my keyboard, I stumbled across one of Kristina Carrillo-Bucaram’s You Tube videos. Kristina is founder and chief co-operator of Rawfully Organic, a non-for-profit organic, raw, and local produce co-operative in Houston, TX. With over 6,500 participating families in the Houston area, Rawfully Organic focuses on the benefits of eating diets high in raw fruits and vegetables while making organic affordable for all. A low fat raw vegan for over 8 years, Kristina has set a mission to simply REACH PEOPLE with the message of RAW, and she hopes to shift the mindset of our nation in regards to eating from local co-operative communities.

Kristen_fullyraw_profile picture

As a vegan I think I understand the importance of incorporating RAW and fresh fruits and vegetables in to our diets. But I also think it is important to make our so called “rabbit food” taste delicious and be very satisfying. Kristina’s video of a “Fully Raw Burrito” intrigued me and did just that. Last week I decide that when my juices cleanse was over I would have to give it a try. Instead of using a traditional flour tortilla Kristina’s uses collard leaves to wrap savory vegetables. Although I made some substations to this recipe it still tastes amazing and looked so colorful. Sorry I forgot to take pictures I was so hungry today after yoga I gobbled it up and later realized I didn’t take pictures. So I will be using some of Kristina’s pictures to show you what it looked like.

THE FULLY RAW BURRITO

Ingredients:

For the burritos:

Large collards leaves
1-3 colorful bell peppers, sliced thin
1-2 carrots, shredded
Juice of 3 Lemons
1 Tomato, chopped
small bunch of cilantro
1 teaspoon of cumin
1/4 of an avocado, mashed / 1/2 cup of guacamole
1 small red onion, sliced thin
1 small jalapeno pepper, chopped

For the Awesomesauce!:

1/4 cup of sunflower seeds / seaseme seeds / cashews
1/2 bell pepper (preferably red)
1/2 of a tomato
juice of 2 lemons
2-3 sprigs of green onion
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 small spicy pepper, optional

Methods/steps:

  1. Take your collard leaf and de-stem the back end (not fully), but just enough to take away the very thick part of the stem as shown in the YouTube video above. Lay out your leaf.
  2. Chop, slice, and dice all burrito ingredients and place them in a bowl.
  3. Blend the ingredients for the saucy spread! Pour the AWESOMESAUCE over all of the above vegetables and mix.
  4. Spread the mashed avocado / guacamole on the back of the collard leaf.
  5. Layer vegetables covered in sauce on top of avocado / guacamole on collard leaf.
  6. Fold in the sides and wrap around the ends.
  7. Flip over the burrito and cut it in half with a knife!

Take a BIG BITE and savor!

Leave a Reply

