WE DID IT!

Yesterday was full of firsts for the puppy and I. We ran for the first time in over 8 months. When we lived at the old place in Rogers Park Bella and I used to get up and run almost every morning. This is also my first run since being married. It felt great to be out there with all the people on the Lake Front Trail. It doesn’t matter what your athletic ability seeing others workout is so motivational. Bella and I ran for three miles, but it wasn’t until about mile 2 that I started feeling like a runner again. That first mile “sucked” to be truly honest so, I guess it took me a while to get all of the kinks out. We ran 3 miles in 28 minutes, which is not bad if I do say so myself. I think we could have run a bit faster but it also took Bella some time to get into her cadence. Oh that lazy dog, she likes to pretend that she has to pooh/ pee so that we can stop and she can rest.

My goal is to run about 8 – 10 miles a week, which is about 2-4 miles about 3 times a week. The other days I might go ride my bike or go to Corepower yoga in Uptown, which is conveniently down the street from the house. I have been doing hot yoga here since the beginning of January and I think it has been great not only for detoxing but it has improved my flexibility. By incorporating all these things: running, yoga, and bike riding; I am hoping I will be able to get my body right for the summer and possibly participate in a few running events.

Bella also had her first bath that we gave her at a dog wash place yesterday. We went to “Unleashed” on Broadway. A small pet store owned by Petco. You can wash your pet there for only $10 and they provide everything! This includes shampoo, conditioner, towels, and the use of a grooming brushes and a large blow dryer. Last year we would occasionally bring her to PetSmart to get groomed by the groomers. But this got expensive. We can’t afford $60 – $80 a month or sometimes twice a month in the summer when Bella plays at the beach. This place is going to be perfect not only are we going to save money but we will keep our second bathroom tub free of doggy hair.

bella bath

Leave a Reply

