I’M BACK!

I’M BACK!

And ready to share what I have been up to. I have had a busy and exciting past couple of months. I just completed my 200 hour registered yoga teacher training program with Samantha Galvin, Becky Meiselman, Katya Sidelnik, and Taylor W at Corepower Yoga, the studio where I have been practicing for the last year and a half.

Corepower Yoga Summer TT_11

Training began in June and finished the second week of August. The training was 3 days a week, meeting every Wednesday, Saturdays, and Sundays, so as you can imagine I was a busy little yogi. We had lectures covering a variety of topics (…meditation, breathing exercises, anatomy, assisting, teaching skills, sanskrit lessons, yoga history/philosophy, yoga business) Also, there were outside of training homework exercises we were responsible for… reading assignments, taking and observing classes, etc.

THE DECISION

The decision to commit to teacher training was not an easy one. I struggled with whether it was the right time in my life, if I could make it fit into the budget and if the time requirement could work with my already jam-packed life. I also took into consideration how much I enjoyed being a student of yoga and NOT the teacher. I knew that going through teacher training would change things with my personal practice.

After weeks and weeks of internally debating the pros and cons and heart-to-heart conversations with family and friends, I finally decided to go for it. There was never going to be a “perfect” time and I couldn’t be sure when the opportunity would present itself …and what would be going on in my life at that time.

Yoga at the beach_edited

MY SUPPORT

I was incredibly lucky to have the support of my family and my husband Lindsey as I went through training. Lindsey was 100% on board with my decision to go through training. I could not have asked for any more from him as I went through the long and grueling process. He completely stepped up and did everything he could to make sure the house didn’t go to shambles and that I was fed and happy. He endured many weekends alone and was always waiting with a hug when I arrived home. Sometimes I walked into those open arms beaming ear-to-ear on a total high from the weekend and other times I dissolved into tears in sheer exhaustion.

THE PHYSICAL PRACTICE

From a physical standpoint, we practiced almost everyday as we were required to take 45 classes with in the 8-week time period. I practiced whether my body wanted to or not. I learned to deal with what my body was giving me at that time. There was a lot to be learned about honoring your body and kindly asking it to do things it might not feel like doing.

One thing that surprised me about teacher training was how much your asana (asana is another word for yoga/ series of postures) practice didn’t matter. I questioned whether my practice was strong enough for teacher training. I came to find that everyone was at a totally different level and teacher training was about SO MUCH MORE than your asana practice. Yes, we practiced a ton but you didn’t have to be a super amazing, bendy yogi to make a good teacher. You just had to truly love yoga.


THE RELATIONSHIPS

What I wasn’t prepared for was how strong of a bond I would form with the 11 other yogis in training with me and how vulnerable, open and honest everyone was with each other. There were so many intense discussions about a wide variety of subjects. This discussion forced you to really evaluate your life – who you are, what you stand for and who you want to be.

For every intense, tearful and passionate conversation that we had there were at least 10 joyful, funny and happy moments. The list of memorable moments that had us almost in tears laughing is a mile long. The friendship that we all formed over those three months was unlike anything I had ever experienced. I honestly consider them my “yoga family” now and I look forward to running into them at the studio and around chicago. It feels amazing to be a part of such a strong community of yogis.

This all happened under the guidance of our phenomenal teachers, Samantha Galvin, Becky Meiselman, Katya Sidelnik, and Taylor W. The training that they put together for us was the perfect mix of serious and lighthearted, old school and modern day, emotional and physical. Their training was the perfect fit for where I was in life.

OH YEAH, THE TEACHING PART

So it seems like the point of going through teacher training would be to learn to teach and it is…to a point. But it’s much more about exploring your love for yoga and deepening your practice. Some people who enroll in teacher training never even want to teach. They just want the experience of immersing themselves in it.

But even if you have no intentions of teaching you learn to teach! It was really cool to watch everyone grow as teachers. The final day we each brought a poem, a story, a journal excerpt to class and taught a portion of the sequence that relates to us. It was inspirational to watch everyone glowing with happiness and confidence as they led the class.

THE AFTERMATH

From June to August my life was consumed by yoga. I all but gave up running and focused on teacher training and my practice. I missed trips out of town and social engagements. My weekends were spent in the studio instead of with Lindsey. I couldn’t even imagine what normal life would feel like when training was over. And now, that it’s over, things have shifted in many ways.

How has it changed my life?

First, I left training completely determined to achieve some goals that I have set for myself. Goals that have been pushed aside for too long. I believe in myself, in my ability to achieve these goals and to succeed. Sometimes the completion of one goal inspires you to achieve others and I am inspired to live a life full of passion, love and good.

Second, I want to be a better person. Teacher training put me on the path to becoming a greater, more positive, more loving version of myself. Someone who doesn’t think negatively of myself and those around me but someone who sees the good and works for the good. Someone who has a purpose and for me that is helping those around me live healthier and happier lives.

I can’t believe I made it! It was a transformational experience and my life has been forever changed. It has set so many good things in motion and shown me the way to the path I want to be on. I am extremely grateful to my teachers for sharing their knowledge and lighting a fire within us; to my fellow teacher trainees for their willingness to bare their souls and be honest, true friends; and to my husband for giving me endless support and encouragement.

Namaste…

Leave a Reply

